Our Meetings

The Barn in Purley on Thames is the meeting place for the West Berks Scrabble Club

The Club meets on Tuesday evenings and alternate Thursday afternoons.

The Thursday meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of the month.

The meetings are held in the small hall of The Barn in Goosecroft Lane in Purley on Thames.

The meeting times are:-

The structure of our meetings is very informal where members choose whom they play, thus ensuring that they play games at the experience level at which they are comfortable.

New players are permitted to use the available lists of useful words until they feel confident enough to play without reference to them. There is no time limit on games played, enabling faster players to play more games in a session without detriment to slower players. Guidance is always available, if required, from the more experienced players.

As well as the Scrabble side, there is always the chance to catch up on village gossip, along with members' news, over a cup of tea and a biscuit.

We charge a meeting fee of 2.50 per person, which includes a cup of tea and a biscuit. In addition there is an annual membership fee of 5 p.a. which is due after people have attended 3 meetings.

The club takes a couple of breaks throughout the year. The Thursday meetings are not held in July, August or the latter half of December. The Tuesday meetings are not held in July or the latter half of December. After Christmas the Club re-opens during the first full week of January.
Specifically there will not be scrabble meetings on the following dates:-

  • Tuesday 26th December 2017
  • Tuesday 2nd January 2018
  • Thursday 21st December 2017
  • Thursday 28th December 2016
  • Thursday 4th January 2018

The Thursday meetings are held twice monthly and take place on the following dates:-

  • Thursday 11th May 2017
  • Thursday 25th May 2017
  • Thursday 8th June 2017
  • Thursday 22nd June 2017 (Now cancelled)
  • Thursday 14th September 2017
  • Thursday 28th September 2017
  • Thursday 12th October 2017
  • Thursday 26th October 2017
  • Thursday 9th November 2017
  • Thursday 23rd November 2017
  • Thursday 14th December 2017
  • Thursday 11th January 2018
  • Thursday 25th January 2018
  • Thursday 8th February 2018
  • Thursday 22nd February 2018
  • Thursday 8th March 2018
  • Thursday 22nd March 2018
  • further dates to be advised

The Barn is in Goosecroft Lane, Purley on Thames which is off Beech Road and is signposted 'Recreation Ground' from the A329, the main Reading to Pangbourne road through Purley on Thames. use a post code of RG8 8DR if you are using a sat-nav.

disabled image The Barn is fully accessible for wheelchair use with appropriate parking directly outside the hall. As such, no-one with a disability should be deterred from considering joining us.